The staff and residents of the Radville Marian Health Centre gathered together on Wednesday, June 25th, and prepared to say farewell to the current building. They came together in the activities room for a potluck lunch and cake.
The building has stood as a landmark in the community since it first opened its doors sixty-six years ago. Originally run by the Sisters of St. Joseph from Pembroke, ON, the Health Centre has seen many changes over the years, but the fact that the hospital even exists is a testament to the determination of the community that built it.
In the early days, the hospital was located in the rectory of the Holy Family Roman Catholic Church. Then priest Father Yandeau, vacated the premises to make room for the sisters who arrived in July of 1946. This small hospital had enough room for a nursery, seven beds, an office, operating room and kitchen.
It was quickly realized that demand for the hospital outweighed the room available and in August of 1947, the contract was signed for construction of the new building.
The new hospital was to include a laboratory, isolation unit, laundry and drying room, dining room, offices for nurses and doctors, a waiting room, children’s ward, two operating rooms and an x-ray room. The original plan for the building called for it to be three stories with the third being left unfinished until a later date.
The process of building the hospital was truly a community effort. All of the…